Welcome 2015!!

I have been very lax on writing in my blog in 2014. My apologies. I found it easy, therapeutic even, to write my way through the darkest journey of losing Tim. Now that my life is beginning to feel and look a little more “normal” (whatever that means), it’s easier to go through my days without taking the time to reflect and write down my thoughts. I find myself retreating into myself a lot. And as a result, I find myself far lonelier as well.

Through the holiday season, I have found myself reflecting more than in recent months. I found that I miss doing that and writing down the things God reveals to me. So, my intention is to give my blog a jump start this year. I have several ideas that will make their way into my blog posts – some of which include: single parenting, parenting three teen boys, quilting, Bethel seminary, children’s ministry, living the widow’s life, and books I’m reading. There will be other topics I’m sure, but these are the ones that pop into my head right now.

So to start off – I found a 2015 Reading Challenge that has peaked my interest. There are 50 categories listed (there’s no way I’ll get through the whole list!) and my job is to read a book from each category. This is somewhat reminiscent of the Empty Shelf challenge that floated around last year.

Here are the categories (with my own comments included):

* A book with more than 500 pages (that’s easy for me)

* A classic romance (ugh, this one might be hard – I hate romances)

* A book that became a movie (easy – I want to read Unbroken)

* A book published this year (this will be tough, I don’t usually keep that current on new publications)

* A book with a number in the title

* A book with nonhuman characters

* A book written by someone under 30 (if I don’t know when it was published, I certainly don’t know the age of the author)

* A funny book

* A book by a female author

* A mystery or thriller (LOVE these!)

* A book with a one-word title

* A book of short stories

* A book set in a different country

* A nonfiction book (will my Bethel books count?)

* A popular author’s first book (might have to see what Tedd Decker’s first book was)

* A book from an author you love that you haven’t read yet

* A book a friend recommended (I’m open for suggestions!)

* A Pulitzer-prize winning book (I’ll have to do some research here.)

* A book based on a true story

* A book at the bottom of your to-read list

* A book your mom loves

* A book that scares you (Stephen King, here I come!)

* A book more than 100 years old

* A book based entirely on its cover

* A book you were supposed to read in school but didn’t (I read everything I was supposed to – maybe I’ll pick a common school read that we never did – To Kill A Mockingbird.)

* A memoir

* A book you can finish in a day

* A book with antonyms in the title

* A book set somewhere you’ve always wanted to visit

* A book that came out the year you were born

* A book with bad reviews (why would I do this???)

* A trilogy

* A book from your childhood

* A book with a love triangle (yuck, another romance book.)

* A book set in the future

* A book set in high school

* A book with a color in the title

* A book that made you cry

* A book with magic (isn’t every book magical in and of itself?)

* A graphic novel

* A book by an author you’ve never read before

* A book you own but have never read (plenty to pick from here!)

* A book that takes place in your hometown (HA! I HIGHLY doubt if there’s a book set in Braham, MN!)

* A book that was originally written in a different language

* A book set during Christmas

* A book written by an author with your same initials

* A play (plays are hard to read, hmmm.)

* A banned book (where do you find that list?)

* A book based on or turned into a TV show

* A book you started but never finished (again, plenty to pick from here!)

I have not decided yet if I will allow a book to fulfill more than one category – for example, Unbroken could be a book with a one-word title, based on a true story, and turned into a movie. But I haven’t decided if I’ll allow that of myself or not. I know I won’t finish all 50 by the end of the year, but it will be fun to see how far I get.

If anyone wants to join me, shoot me a message and we’ll compare book selections! Otherwise, just enjoy discovering some new books along with me!

And, enjoy hearing from me once again. 2015 will be a great year and I’m treating it as no-holds barred as to what I might write about!

 

 

Leave a Reply

