Back in the Productive Side of Society

One can live on only Social Security death benefits for so long. Not only is a change required for financial reasons, I am also to the point where if I don’t get a job soon, I will go more than a little stir-crazy. So over the summer, I have come to the realization that it is, in fact, time for me to find a paying job and re-join the productive members of our society in the never-ending effort to provide for my family.

I had a very short term, part-time job in July with the Mahtomedi Public Schools helping in the classrooms during All Stars, which is the summer targeted services program for the elementary kids of the community that need some summer help with reading and math. I loved it! I was working with about 12 kids and it was so fun to get to know them. I was sad at the end of July when the program was over.

I had put in applications for a couple more jobs similar to that one in the schools, but was never even called for an interview. I know one thing for sure – I am way too old and far too educated and invested in a ministry future to do anything other than work with kids and their families. So I wasn’t sure where to go next.

I was called in for an interview for a lunchroom/recess position at the upper elementary school here. At the interview, I found out that four people work together to manage 700 kids going through lunch and recess in about a 2 1/2 hour time period. Uff da!

After the interview I decided to stop by St. Andrew’s Preschools, which is just down the street from my house, to see if they were still in need of any more helpers on a part time basis. I’m sure I was listening for God’s timing, as I have been thinking of stopping in there all summer long, but I finally stopped in after the school interview. The director interviewed me on the spot, and within two days I had a job! Thankfully, I heard back from them before getting a call from the school offering me the lunchroom/recess job.

Really – which would you rather do: crowd control of 700 third through fifth graders or play and create with 15 preschoolers? Even those of you not interested in kid kinds of jobs would probably think this is a no-brainer!

Since then, I have gotten two more calls asking if I’m still looking for a job – one as a Reading Corps position in a Stillwater elementary school and one for an after school care position in a Mahtomedi school. If I didn’t have other obligations, I could piece together full time work.

And today, I was just offered a position as a TA (teaching assistant) to the Professor of Children’s and Family Ministry for this year. I am super! excited for this opportunity. This professor is an amazing mentor and now I will have a chance to work much more closely with her.

I have been struggling over the past several months with what direction my education is taking me. I am passionate about kids’ ministry and reaching into families that are dealing with crisis, but I don’t really have a good grasp on exactly what that is going to look like. I am very grateful that at least for the time being, I can continue with my Bethel education and have a little bit of money coming in by doing what I love to do the most.

One thought on “Back in the Productive Side of Society

  1. i am super excited for you Barb! A part time position to move into employment..outside of the home..is a great way to do it. If you are working at St. Andrew’s you will get to work with Angela Henrichs. I can’t imagine anyone more fun or god-centered to be working with! Please keep us posted with your updates. And, as Mark does every day after driving the school bus, comes home with some really hilarious stories! I am sure you will have some to share too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

