A rough road

This week has been so long!! I have had a wonderful week at Bethel Seminary doing my first Intensives. What, you may be wondering, are Intensives? This means that all the new students in my program have traveled from long and far to meet together in classrooms to receive some actual professor time.

The first three days were spent learning from one of the world’s leading theologians, Thorsten Moritz. He is a brilliant mind that walks into the room with nothing in his hands and talks for 8 hours with no stopping! His illustrations are memorable and I have much to think about as I continue his course.

Starting yesterday, I moved into my other course, Intro to Children’s and Family Ministry. Again, this course is taught by a global opinion-shaper, Denise Kjesbo. She is a warm and sensitive woman who has done much to shape the direction of children’s ministry worldwide. This class is with just the people in my master’s program. It has been very fun getting to know these 11 people.

Overall, family has done well without me. We had one snafu when Micah stayed home from school on one day, but otherwise things have gone well. Simon has been fairly irritated that he has had to go to before school care this week. But, he too has decided to tolerate it; and tonight he is off at the T&T sleepover at church. Now, I just have one day of classes left.

I think the hardest thing has been the rough road that Tim has traveled this week. He has been struggling with a lot of icky mucus getting stuck in his throat lately. We have been using the suction machine to clear his passages a lot. A new medication has been added to the regimen that helps to thin out the mucus. Yes, it is working, but not so much that we don’t still have to use the suction machine.

We have also adjusted Tim’s night time meds to hopefully help him sleep through the night better. The new med takes up to a week to be at its full impact, so we don’t know how well it will work yet. Please keep that in your prayers.

I am nervously anticipating next week when I am home again. Progression in Tim’s disease can be measured on a weekly basis, and it is even faster as the last stages move along. Since I have been gone this whole week, there is a chance that I will be able to really notice all that I have missed this week. I am a bit nervous about that, but I also know that everything will be OK in the end.

Next week, I will try to post some seminary thoughts to see who might be interested.

Leave a comment