iPods, Nerf guns, toolsets, and more

Merry Christmas everyone!! We have been abundantly blessed in our Christmas this year. Not only do we have the blessing of a Christmas together as a family, we were honored to be chosen as a family at 3M to participate in the Adopt-A-Family program. Needless to say, our Christmas tree was overloaded with gifts this year!

Luke and Micah received their number one wish: iPod Touches. Simon received a Nintendo 3DS. There were many shirts and hoodies and other goodies as well: tool set for Micah, remote control cars for Simon, books for Luke, chess set, and the list goes on. And I happen to know that we still have more to open that will be received with shrieks of glee! We (Tim and I) are deeply humbled by the outpouring of love to our family this year.

I truly feel God’s peace in my heart. I know that I am right where God wants me to be. Learning to be completely reliant on Him for all things. Many have asked us about the life insurance that we tried to increase in October. I opened the letter on Christmas day that stated the obvious: it was denied. The first thought to cross my mind was “that’s OK. I can’t wait to see how God will provide for us in His miraculous way instead.” Of course, if I spend much time thinking about it, I get worried and carried away with the details. But I have experienced so much of God providing for us over the past year, that I can’t imagine Him stopping His care for us anytime soon or just because we weren’t able to increase our life insurance.

As way of update on how things are going on the home front: It has been wonderful to sleep in these past few mornings. It is nice to be lazy in bed  because I know that the first task I have to accomplish is getting Tim out of bed. Not that I loath doing it, it’s just a wearying task. Tim’s legs are particularly uncooperative first thing in the morning. And for those of you that help to stretch him, you will have an understanding of what I mean. We have mostly transitioned to me feeding Tim now. As I watch Tim, he is struggling more and more to overcome gravity with his arms. His right arm in particular seems to be weakening fast. His hands can’t accomplish any small motor tasks.

Talking is becoming a more tiring activity now too. I have noticed that if Tim is smiling, he has a much harder time talking. Tim’s speech is slower, quieter and mushier than ever. This will only continue to deteriorate. He has had a couple more choking incidents. Lately, they are all when he is taking his pills. I will be talking to the pharmacist this week about what alternative methods of taking his pills we can find.

After those two paragraphs, you would think I would be a weeping mess. But I’m not. I firmly feel God’s hand on our lives. He has a plan and I, for one, am eagerly seeking it out. I don’t understand why so many things happen in this world. But I do understand that if I seek Him out, He will let me find Him.

You know how there are certain Christmas carols that we’ve been singing since we were 3 years old. And now we just sing the words without even thinking about what they mean. I stopped and considered the words to one of the oldest and most famous of all Christmas carols the other day. And it brought a completely new attitude to my heart, because these words can be spoken not only of us as worshippers, but to Jesus as the Messiah as well.

O come all ye faithful, joyful and triumphant. O come let us adore Him.

Instead of singing the verses – try just reading it as a sentence. It reads completely differently than it sings. We are faithful, joyful and triumphant. But stop and think – so is He. He is faithful, joyful and triumphant. And because of that, I can adore Him and rely on Him to care for me. May you have a new understanding of who He is this holiday season.

 

Leave a Reply

