First day of “retirement”

Since Tim would have been home this week and next anyway, it really doesn’t feel much like retirement. It feels like he’s home on vacation – which is exactly what he is!

It was so nice to let him lounge in bed for a while longer this morning. We had no rush to get him out of bed to be ready for a bus that would end up coming 20 minutes late anyway. I will certainly not miss that! He did bring his work laptop home in case he needs to email with anyone, but I don’t think I will let him even plug it in until his vacation is over anyway! So we have at least two weeks of just relaxing time for him.

I think I will end up getting more done now than when he was working fulltime. It may be a very good thing for him to be home. It will keep me on my toes and not let me slough off quite so much. I have already done a dishwasher load of dishes, a load of laundry, a hand-washed load of dishes, filled in some paperwork that should have been done a month ago and am on to what I will work on next. Whew! It’s only 10:30 am.

I’m hoping to continue working on his secret Christmas present too. He knew I was working on a lap quilt for him, but then my quilting foot for my sewing machine broke. He doesn’t know I was able to get a replacement part already. I’m hoping to have the quilt finished and under the tree for him. The hardest part will be getting the binding done. Now that he’s in the house, I will have to work on it in the basement and it’s a bit chilly down there for handwork like that. I’ll just have to crank the space heater up.

 Well, off to the next projects for the day: clean all bathrooms, clean out the old homeschool classroom space for Luke to use, email two guidance counselors for the kids, and hopefully hit the sewing room. Busy day ahead!

Leave a Reply

