It’s looking like Christmas!

Well, yesterday, we put the tree up. I put up the hardware on the wall to be able to display quilted wall hangings, and promptly put up one of my own Christmas wall hangings. I have quickly discovered I don’t have a place to display the houses this year. I have had so much fun filling out Christmas cards and making some special treats to give to special people this year.

I just have to stop and say a thank you to everyone that has been praying for us over the past year, but especially this fall. I am so thankful that I am feeling back to normal again. I am able to wake up in the morning, get Tim out of bed, get the kids off to school and still have the energy now to get many things done in a day. Just a few months ago, I could barely do anything. It is such a relief to have my own health back again.

Tomorrow, I am off to see an ob/gyn to see about what she can offer to my seizure situation. I went to the neurologist last week and showed him a chart of my seizures over the past 5-6 months. It was clearly obvious that there is a distinct pattern to my seizures and it is obviously related to my monthly cycle of hormonal ups and downs. Please pray that this ob/gyn can suggest a solution that will address the root cause of the seizures.

This Wednesday is Tim’s “retirement” party at 3M. I think it’s fair to say that he is dreading this. He has agreed to do this more out of consideration for his co-workers than for himself. (Though I think he will have fond memories of it for himself as well.) I will be getting the boys from school to take them there. Pray that all goes well for the boys, for Tim and for all his coworkers.

Friday is Tim’s last day at work. The mixture of emotions is quite amazing! I am sad that we are in the place we are in, I am relieved that Tim has worked for such an amazing company for so long, I am looking forward to having Tim at home where we can deal with minor emergencies so much faster than waiting for Metro Mobility to bring Tim home. I really have no idea how the transition will go, but I know that it will be like every other transition we have gone through so far – God is in charge and I will continue to trust Him.

The verse that I have been meditating on lately is found in the Old Testament. David is giving instruction to his son:

“As for you, my son Solomon, know the God of your father, and serve Him with a whole heart and a willing mind; for the Lord searches all hearts, and understands every intent of the thoughts. If you seek Him, He will let you find Him; but if you forsake Him, He will reject you forever.” I Chronicles 28:9

It has been a wonderful comfort and challenge to know that God knows me intimately and He wants me to know Him intimately. I hope this is inspiring to you as well.

Leave a Reply

