An update on the Filiatrault’s

I began a short update to my quilting friends on Yahoo! and realized I really should put it into a blog. And since Yahoo! conveniently ate it, I am going to re-type it here after all.

Tim is not walking much at all anymore. He is using his power wheelchair around the house almost all the time. For those of you that know our house – he walks from his bed in the living room to the bathroom in the morning. And from the bathroom to his bed in the evening. He is using his power scooter for work, but will be switching to the wheelchair in the next week or two. His legs really can’t do much anymore – it takes all his effort to get them to move sometimes. His balance is really mostly gone too. If he were to be standing and sneeze or yawn, it could tip him right over. That actually happened once a while back – by now, it would be a sure thing.

Tim is using the local public transit for handicapped – Metro Mobility. This has its ups and downs. It has truly been a lifesaver for us. We don’t have to worry about Tim driving anymore. The drivers are very helpful and are trained to work with situations like ours. The downside is that they don’t always respect our time the way they should. Mornings are generally pretty good. But afternoons are really hit or miss if they will be picking Tim up on time. We have baseball schedules to deal with in the evenings, so it’s really hard to have Tim coming home unpredictably late. I need to be here to help get Tim situated before leaving for baseball by 5:30- 5:45. One of the many unforeseen frustrations associated with this disease.

Our house renovations continue. So far, we have repainted the living room, boys’ bedrooms, stairway and upstairs hallway. They look beautiful! We have put a new laminate floor in the living room to replace the old worn-out carpet. Again – beautiful! We have a new ramp in the garage and beautiful bushes in the terrace gardens. Next will be the bathroom on the main floor. We will be putting in a roll-in shower for Tim so that we no longer have to go up and down the stairs to our bathroom for showering. We will also have a handicapped sink and taller toilet for him. The bathroom project begins tomorrow. Amazingly, our church has graciously offered to pay for the remodeling. I stand in awe at the provisions of our God!

I have thoughts and worries that I never could have imagined a year ago. I am about to embark on a journey I never thought I would get to do. I am seriously planning on starting a graduate program this fall in my area of passion. I have wanted to do this for a long time, but now that it’s becoming a reality I am more anxious than I thought I would be. There are so many worries that are coming along with it. I spend a fair amount of time helping Tim with his daily needs and he is still working full time. Sometime in the next 6-8 months (maybe less) he will be going on disability and stop working. My mind is consumed with “Then what?”

I am coming to realize how important it is for me to be aware of my own stress level. I am developing as many ways to reduce stress as possible. I will be starting sessions with a personal trainer next week, I am exercising a bit here and there (so my muscles are a bit sore today), I allow myself to cry more often than I am comfortable with, I talk with my therapist every other week. All these things are good. Daily, even hourly, talks with my heavenly Father also help me to keep my own stress level down. I am noticing that if I keep my stress level down,  my seizure activity stays down too. That is still at the top of my priority list!

So this update isn’t as short as I wanted it to be, but hopefully it will help people to think of things to pray for us. I sometimes feel like a broken record – that our updates are all starting to sound the same. The changes here are gradual but they continue on anyway. Over time, the changes we report will be different. Thank you for your prayers.

 

Leave a Reply

