Rain on me

It seems like everything I do has to do with ALS. Helping Tim get ready in the morning. Planning a bathroom remodel so we have a shower on the main floor. Getting a ramp in the garage. Setting up Metro Mobility rides for Tim. Getting prescriptions for muscle relaxers, anti-depressants, and more. Scheduling personal training sessions for myself so I can be strong enough to pick Tim up. Having others take me grocery shopping because now Tim can’t drive anymore. Checking to see if we have mortgage insurance. Putting laminate flooring in our living room. It’s all enough to make a person crazy!

Combine all that with what I still have outside of that. Getting kids on the bus on time. Clean the house from the trainwreck of 5 kids all weekend. Update BLAST schedule. Prep June BLAST decorations & props. Start looking at VBS curriculum. Take kid to doctor this afternoon. Meal scheduling. Baseball games & practices Mon thru Thur this week.

I’m ready for a vacation! Take me to the beach – any beach. Give me a night at a bed & breakfast. Send me to a wonder of creation like the Grand Canyon. I’ll spend time at historic landmarks. I’m ready to spend a couple stress-free days anywhere!

But even then, some stress comes with me as I worry about whoever is helping Tim. He isn’t falling as much anymore, but he does still at times. And when he does, his legs are so uncooperative that it almost takes an engineer to figure out how to get him back up. Most of the time, it’s not a big deal that everything takes so much longer, but now Metro Mobility arrives at a specified time. So mornings have a bit more urgency to them, and if anything goes longer than we’ve planned, we get a bit stressed out.

I admit, I have not been scheduling specific time in the Word as much lately. I think it’s beginning to wear on me. I’m not as relaxed as I could be. I need that re-filling of the Holy Spirit on a daily basis. Time to really be serious about that again. I am starting a new Bible study. It’s called Downpour by James MacDonald. The subtitle: He will come to us like the rain. I must say, that even though we have been rained on a lot outside, my spirit is feeling very ready for a rain to come. Lord, rain on me.

2 thoughts on “Rain on me

  1. Wow, Barb, that’s quite a list. I can see why it would wear on you. (As I was reading, I thought- “Oh, I hope, hope hope they have mortgage insurance….”) I’ve also wondered at times, do we have this or that, and sometimes I think ” I have not idea where to look to figure that out.” ….
    Anyway, I hope you find the refreshment you need. I know I lOVE James MacDonald’s stuff….. may it bless you in just the right ways as you go through it……

    1. It is so good to hear that someone else has enjoyed James MacDonald. I haven’t started it yet, but I am looking forward to a refreshing of my spirit in a big way!

Leave a Reply

