The heart of the matter

After spending a very long day at the mall of america, I have more to think about than ever. And more to figure out.

My neighbor, Karine, drove our van for us – us being myself, Micah, his friend Bryce, Simon, Karine and her grandson, Simon’s friend, Tyler. While the four boys were playing at MagiQuest, Karine and I talked and talked and talked. I so appreciate that God has placed Karine in my life for this season. She is quite a remarkable woman. Just a few years away from retirement, she and her husband have taken in her grandson and have started the parenting journey again. The sacrifices being made are not to be sniffed at. Yet, her love for Tyler runs so deep and is so pure, it is not surprising that she is making these choices.

Karine can see through to the heart of a matter so quickly. And what I love is that she doesn’t shy away from calling it like she sees it. So after catching up for just a few minutes, she diagnosed my heart decisively and accurately. And now that I have been shown what ails my heart (today anyway), I am left trying to figure out how to deal with it in a healthy way.

For my pray-ers out there, please pray that God would reveal His heart to me and that He would show me how to appropriately deal with the issues I am struggling with. Pray that the time I spend in the Word would be tailor made for me as I wrestle with so many different emotions all at once. It is quite chaotic in my heart these days – I’d like to get myself organized again.

3 thoughts on “The heart of the matter

  1. Hello, Barb!
    Sandy recently let me in on how things are going for you and your family. I will be praying for you guys regularly. I am also available to help you with things that you guys need. (groceries, meals, other) Please keep me posted. I have appreciated your blog. Thanks for being so transparent!
    Take care & God bless!

  2. Only trusting, praying, depending totally on GOD, our Father and our Savior and Lord, (letting every worry, every concern for the future be totally surrendered to HIM), then HE will give you peace knowing that HE has the plans all in place for you and the situations that you find yourself in. I Peter 5:7 “Casting all our cares on Him so HE cares for us” (or close to the verse). Also, in Matt. “Come you all who are heavy laden and I will give you rest.” Think and pray on these things.

  3. I am so glad you have Karine. From your description, I believe God was also a part of that conversation. I believe that God works through people. By trusting Karine and opening your heart to her, I believe you are opening your heart and trusting God to help you as well. Thank you for sharing such a touching expeience.
    Meg Filiatrault

Leave a Reply

