Checkerboard I Spy quilt

I really have been in my sewing room lately, I just haven’t had time to blog much about my sewing adventures of late.

About 3 weeks ago, I received a package full of surprises from my good friend Rose in Washington. Amongst the many wonderful gifts was a packet of 4″ squares of many different fabrics – in fact, no two alike! There were 51 squares in the bundle. I was curious about what I should do with them, when I realized they are the exact size for the centers of what my yahoo quilting group calls “Happy Blocks.” It didn’t take long to figure out that I would be making a Happy Quilt with them!  I just searched through my happy centers to add a few more and I was all set.

I have always loved black and white – so I decided to play around with that a little bit. From my scraps, I cut enough black borders and enough white borders to make a checkerboard effect with the wide variety of color in the centers of the blocks.

Checkerboard Happies Quilt

So – to Rose – thank you so much for the inspiration for a checkerboard happies quilt. It has given me inspiration to make many more like it, using different pairings for the checkerboard. How about the colors of the local school, with sports oriented centers? Or a girlie-girl one, with pink and purple borders and girlie centers? For boys, you could do blue & green with dinosaurs, sharks, and trucks in the centers. The possibilities are endless!

What a fun quilt and super easy and fast to put together! If you need a quick idea for a donation quilt or a gift, this is it! Thanks Rose for the inspiration – Now it’s your turn to make one!

2 thoughts on “Checkerboard I Spy quilt

  1. I absolutely love it….and while it’s not a tote or a table runner….I say you qualify with this for the charm pack challenge =) I want to see some close ups of the fabrics.

    *hugs from Washington*
    Rose

    1. I still intend on making a tote with the Moda Charm pack – this was the other pack of squares you sent! I’ll send a pic of my tote to you privately after quilt retreat. Both Laura and I are making our totes next weekend at camp.
      Barb

Leave a Reply

