Oklahoma musings

I’ve been in Oklahoma for 2 days now and I have to say, I love it! The countryside is nothing different from Minnesota (at least where I am), the people are welcoming and I have had a wonderful time here.

My niece’s wedding was beautiful. We did a few family pictures before the wedding. And then it started. There were 7 flower girls (yes, 7!), 2 ring bearers (one is only 16 months old!), 5 bridesmaids, 3 groomsmen, 1 matron of honor, 1 best man. And then my brother walked his little girl down the aisle. I teared up – my brother looks so much like my dad. It was beautiful.

The ceremony was short, but honoring to the bride and groom and to God. I believe this marriage will be one blessed by God. Stephen and Jenny are active in a local church – and I pray that they continue to be. \

Our family has been having a wonderful time together. It’s the first time the 6 of us have been together in a long time. It’s good to see everyone again. There’s talk of trying to do this again – a bit sooner this time. I hope we do. As adults, I think we are all realizing that there is a need to have family in our lives. I know Lois, Phyllis and Kristi got together about a year and a half ago. I intend to have my boys get to know Myron and Kim more in the coming days. It’s so hard to have family get-togethers when we are so spread out. We must be so much more intentional about it. But it does not mean it’s impossible. It means we work harder at it. Those that are closer together geographically must choose to get together more often. Those that are spread apart need to make that effort when opportunities arise – for example, Jenny’s wedding. As other weddings come, I hope we are able to come together again, wherever that may be. The events are not so much for the bride or groom as they are for all of us siblings that so rarely get to see each other.

Pictures will be added when I return home.

2 thoughts on “Oklahoma musings

  1. Glad you had a wonderful trip. I especially relate to your comment about get-togethers needing to be more intentional. Since my parents both passed away, my siblings and I have made that very statement, and though we don’t see each other as often as any of us would like, we do make the effort. In fact, we are planning to have everyone meet at the lutefisk dinner in Milaca in a couple of weeks (even though none of us likes the stuff)! The lutefisk dinner was a traditional birthday celebration for my maternal grandfather; every year all of HIS kids would come together at this event. My mom’s sister and brother still carry on the tradition even though Grandpa is gone, and I guess the rest of us will eat ham with clothespins on our noses. Whatever it takes, huh? The important thing is keeping the ties with family. I hope your family can find creative ways, too.

Leave a Reply

