Coin Collection

I have been cleaning up a lot of old projects from my sewing room, and I’m proud of how much progress I’ve made doing that. However, I have really started to feel the need to create again. And it has become somewhat overwhelming lately. So, here’s my new project!

I’ve had a beautiful purple/olive green/turquoise collection of fat quarters sitting in my sewing room for 7 months (purchased on sale at JoAnn’s at Christmas) just waiting for the perfect project to present itself. It finally has. The pattern is from Quiltmaker magazine and it’s a perfect pattern for fq’s. It does a great job of highlighting many fabrics in a small amount of space.

Here is my fq collection:

After cutting them all into 1 1/2″ strips and assembling them in 6 different ways, I sewed them together into bands like this:

Then, I cross cut the bands into 5″ widths. Now I have 6 piles of 4 each that look like this:

Now I need to find a cream colored background to put the 15″ blocks together. Once I do that, I’ll post the next pictures.

It feels so good to be in the creative mode again. I can’t wait to see all the new quilts that come from my next big creative push!

Leave a Reply

