When we are in a storm…

When life becomes overwhelming, where do you turn for strength? When your to-do list is longer than any reasonable person could manage in a day, where does your peace come from? When you have said yes, volunteered yourself one too many times, when your kids’ schedules require color-coding to keep it all straight, where do you find rest? When life’s storms come at you from all sides, where is your safety and security?

I find myself pondering these questions as I am at the end of a full day. Of course, the day starts with working out and regular housework. Then I spent the rest of the morning and all afternoon trying to meet an obligation I volunteered myself for. Then, this afternoon, I received a phone call from the speech therapist just as we were sitting down to supper to remind me that Micah wasn’t there. Too late to do anything about that one. We quick wolfed down supper and out the door to his baseball game. And now as I look out my south-facing windows, I finally see what the weather reports have been warning me of throughout the whole day.

“He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will abide in the shadow of the Almighty. I will say to the Lord, ‘My refuge and my fortress, My God, in whom I trust!’ For it is He who delivers you from the snare of the trapper and from the deadly pestilence. He will cover you with His pinions, and under His wings you may seek refuge; His faithfulness is a shield and bulwark.” (Psalm 91:1-4)

The only safe place to be in the midst of the storms of life is under His wings. Our Lord cares more for us than we allow ourselves to believe. If we truly understood the depths of His love for us, we would run to Him with every problem, knowing that He will stop all He is doing just to listen to us. Think of how much we love our own kids and how we stop to care for them when they are hurt or in a situation they don’t know how to handle. When they call on us for help, we put down our own interests and turn our full attention to them. How much deeper is God’s love for us! Why do we think he would treat us any differently?

And now as it grows dark outside, I’m thinking that this storm is going to fizzle out. Trusting in God means hiding in his fortress – where He offers his protection from the dangers of life. Overscheduling our lives, weakening finances, fading relationships can all take their toll on us. God is faithful to us, though. If we continually seek His protection and guidance, we will be delivered from many of life’s snares and storms.

I am glad to be ending the day reflecting on who God is and how much He loves me. I can go to sleep peacefully knowing that tomorrow when things seem to be getting out of control again, God is still the Almighty Fortress that is there to protect me, from the world and sometimes from myself, too.

Leave a Reply

